The Washington School Counselor Association recognizes outstanding efforts in the school counseling profession through our annual awards program. Our awards program includes:

  • School Counselor of the Year
  • College and Career Counselor of the Year
  • Advocate of the Year
  • Equity in Action Award
  • District Director/Administrator Award
  • Rising Star Award
  • RAMP Recognition

Award Descriptions & Criteria

2023 Award Winners

School Counselor of the Year

Jorge Torres

School Counselor
Foster High School
Tukwila School District

Equity In Action Award

Myrna Porter

School Counselor 
McKenna Elementary School
Yelm Community Schools

District Director/Administrator of the Year Award

Michele Bledsoe

Director of Social Emotional Wellness 
Puyallup School District

Rising Star


David Marcus

School Counselor
Discovery Middle School

Vancouver Public Schools

© 2023 Washington School Counselor Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software